Generated bundle size

I’m new to react_on_rails, and also babel (and react!) so I may have some misperceptions about how this all fits together, but it seems like the code bundles generated by react_on_rails are much larger than i would have expected. I have very little app js code, and no libraries other than the ones included with react_on_rails (plus Redux, no bootstrap).

The dev bundles come to 3.5 megs for app-bundle.self and 1.5 megs for vendor-bundle.self.

The production bundle comes to ~1.5 megs for app-bundle and 555 kb for vendor-bundle.

Is this to be expected? These values seem very large.

There’s some things we know we need to do get the bundle sizes down.

1. https://github.com/shakacode/react_on_rails/issues/206
  2. http://www.2ality.com/2015/12/webpack-tree-shaking.html

If you can try these out and report back, that would be super helpful!

Another related issue:

Thanks for the response and links, Justin.

I tried both the tree-shaking plugins and lodash plugin and did not see any reductions in generated code size (though I may have done something incorrectly, due to lack of experience with babel and webpack).

Here’s the code from my altered webpack.client.rails.config.js:

config.module.loaders.push(
  {
    test: /\.jsx?$/,
    loader: 'babel-loader',
    exclude: /node_modules/,
    query: {
        plugins: [
          'lodash'
          'transform-es2015-template-literals',
            'transform-es2015-literals',
            'transform-es2015-function-name',
            'transform-es2015-arrow-functions',
            'transform-es2015-block-scoped-functions',
            'transform-es2015-classes',
            'transform-es2015-object-super',
            'transform-es2015-shorthand-properties',
            'transform-es2015-computed-properties',
            'transform-es2015-for-of',
            'transform-es2015-sticky-regex',
            'transform-es2015-unicode-regex',
            'check-es2015-constants',